33 years old.

Today is my 33rd birthday.  When my stage IV diagnosis came in the summer of 2017, I craved awaking on this day and celebrating.  I craved normalcy.  I was comforted by God.  I still hold to His truths and that His will for my life is divine.  I may not know what my future holds, but no one does.   This verse gets me through my days, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11.  Hold true to what your future may hold.  Hold true to your eternal life.

I get asked lots of questions about my health and how this all began.  So, in honor of my 33 years of blessed life on this Earth,  I am going to share 33 bits of information about my breast cancer journey!

  1. My original diagnosis came in summer of 2011 at the age of 26 years old.
  2. I found the lumps myself.
  3. I have no immediate family history of breast cancer.  I believe only 15% of cases do have an immediate family history.
  4. I do not have the BRCA gene mutations.
  5. My initial masses were removed and believed to be fibroadenomas.
  6. My surgeon cried as she gave me the results of the pathology.  My first words were, “But I want to be a Mother.”  Faith over fear became my motto.
  7. I was diagnosed Stage I with extensive DCIS (cancer in the ducts) as well.  Estrogen and Progesterone fed the cancer, Her2 negative.
  8. A double mastectomy was completed on August 24, 2011.  #drainssuck
  9. 94% chance of no distant reoccurrence over 10 years with Tamoxifen was the statistics for the genetic analysis of the cancer.
  10. It was deemed traditional chemotherapy would not increase my chance of survival anymore than taking Tamoxifen would.
  11. I had breast reconstruction.  This was a long process.
  12. Encouraging others to do their self-exams and get their mammograms became my passion.  With help, I coordinated a breast cancer support group for our area.  Helping others was the silver lining to having cancer.
  13. In 2013, I had a full-body scan and it was clear.
  14. In 2014, with permission, medical analysis, stopping my Tamoxifen, and prayer, I became pregnant!
  15. A 7lb. 6oz. baby joined us in late 2014–my dreams fulfilled.
  16. I started the Tamoxifen again after having the baby.  Cancer was behind me, or so, I thought.
  17. In 2016, I had vague pains on and off near a rib.  It came and went and didn’t cause me great distress.  The doctor’s thought it may have been my gallbladder or the fact that I had increased the intensity of my exercise.
  18. A breast MRI was ordered and denied 3 times by insurance.  The odd sensations and pain stopped, so I did not pursue it anymore (could have been unrelated).
  19. In spring 2017, my right hip began aching.  Then the left started as well.  Both aches came and went.  I made an appointment with my oncologist.  I justified the discomfort because of increased running and it came and went as well.
  20. I started physical therapy for my hip pain.  It got better!!!!  This eased my mind it could be cancer related.  No physician saw the need for a bone scan.
  21. Early summer 2017, back pain began. It came and went as well.  It seemed I injured myself.
  22. Bloodwork revealed my liver enzymes are elevated.
  23. An ultrasound of my liver and gallbladder were ordered.  Then a CT scan.  All in the same week.
  24. My dear doctor called me on Thursday, June 8th and told me it appeared I had extensive bone metastases and liver lesions.   I’ll always remember the smile on the face of my sweet girl as she went to her grandparents so my husband and I could process the news.  She had on a princess dress.
  25. I was hospitalized for 8 days for high calcium and pleural effusion.   A liver biopsy occurred, which I woke up during!
  26. I chose to be treated at Tennessee Oncology with a young, female doctor that is the top of her field with metastatic breast cancer.
  27. Metastatic breast cancer is manageable, but not curable.  I do believe the Great Physician is holding me in His hands.
  28. Oral chemotherapy began in July.  I will take this or some form of chemo the rest of my life.  I also take monthly bone infusions to strengthen them.
  29. Radiation occurred to multiple locations in my body.
  30. I have scans every three months or more to ensure the medicine is working.  At this time, the disease is stable.
  31. My ovaries were removed, as the cancer was once again estrogen fed.
  32. Overall, I feel very well, but do have extreme fatigue at times.
  33. I am alive!!!  I am strong!!!  The normalcy I craved is back for the most part.  I am happy, it is well with my soul.

Celebrate your birthday every year!!!  Do something you want to do.  Growing old is a privilege, don’t take that for granted.   I never would have believed my future would hold cancer again as the 26 year old that was originally diagnosed, especially a stage IV diagnosis.  But, it does and I intend to make the most of it. Remember, Jeremiah 29:11.   Love to you all.

14 thoughts on “33 years old.

  1. I found your story on Instagram just today and was touched by your story. I have not personally battled cancer but my mom did, lung cancer. I lost her last September. What made me more emotional than anything in reading your story is the fact that you said insurance denied a breast MRI 3 times! I’m an ultrasound tech and have been in healthcare for 26 years and I always hear this. Why? It is so ridiculous that insurance companies will not allow something like this. They also denied my mom having a Petscan a year and a half after her diagnosis. 2 months later we found out it had metastasized to her brain. I will be praying for you and family daily and am so glad to hear your faith is strong! That is what I truly believe holds us up when we need it most. Much love to you, Tammy

    Like

    • Yes, faith gets me through and gives me hope for a bright future. And yes, it is crazy! Standard care for breast cancer does not include follow up scans, unless a symptom presents. I had vague symptoms on and off, but nothing alarming till it was obvious I was incredibly ill. Who knows if that scan would have shown anything, but insurance can be so frustrating!

      Like

  2. I saw your story on Instagram. I too have a little girl and this is my biggest fear. For her to grow up without me. I pray you are well and are able to live for so much longer. Your strength is so admired! God bless you!

    Like

  3. I read your story on Facebook and it brought me here. As a mother myself, this makes my heart ache for you but I so admire your strength and faith you have. I thank you for sharing your story and hope you continue to write more. I will be praying for you and making sure that I too follow up with my mammograms regularly.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t generally read blogs. And never comment. But I want to come here and comment to you after seeing an article from you on Love What Matters. My sister at age 41 was diagnosed with breast cancer. She had 3 young children and like you, dreamed of being a mother. 4 years later, the cancer returned. Like you, metastasized to the hip and spine. She loved in daily pain. Upon her first return chemo treatment, she want into congestive heart failure. They felt for sure (although never said), she wouldn’t make that 3 year life expectancy. She didn’t. She made it to 8. She loved like you, for the small moments. Rarely feeling sorry for herself. Recognizing some had it worse than her. Nurses would comment she had been Through a lot. She would shoot them down, saying she does what she has to. As you are. God bless you in your journey and in your fight. Cancer shouldnever want to mess with a mom on a mission.

    Like

  5. First of all, let me send you a warm hug and tell you how beautiful your family is. I watched another incredible woman celebrate every second of time she could following her unexpected return of breast cancer. Like you, she had a gorgeous little girl full of life and exactly the same age, as well as two boys. Throughout her journey she never stopped to focus on what she might miss – she inspired us, each and every friend who stood beside her during Weekend to Fight Cancervwalks, our children’s hockey tournaments, even our trips to the grocery stores! – to love every moment of our lives. She battled and triumphed for more than nine glorious years, attended her son’s championship hockey tournament cheering proudly from the stands and went home to rest up before the after-game celebration exhilarated for the team. And then she relaxed into the hands of our Lotd, taking her place to watch over us all and make us smile every single day. Her children are grown now, and they are inspirational people who talk warmly of their mother with love, laughter and admiration. They all learned to skate with her proudly watching. In fact they skied, swam, danced, ate dinner together and held her hand at times during treatments. There isn’t a moment they would have preferred not to have done. They are positive, optimistic , kind individuals who have already been blessed with the ability to value the everyday moments in life so many of us speed past. Your daughter is so blessed to have you – for today or one hundred years. I can see the love on all three of your faces and she will carry that with her always. Enjoy your life beautiful – you are so blessed and surrounded by love and prayers from all around you.

    Like

    • This was so rewarding for me to read! I hate cancer, hate it. But, I hope I can instill faith in the ones I love and perseverance through this. I am so glad your friend is with the Lord.

      Like

  6. I don’t have cancer, but I have a very serious chronic illness. I first got sick three years ago, and I have almost died twice in the last six months alone. I wanted to say thank you for sharing your story. I live my life now the same way that you do, soaking up every good moment I have while trying to learn how to embrace the tough ones. Those hard days sometimes really get to me, but overall they have taught me who to fall in love with life and mean it. I am also a mom, (my son is 16) and being sick i front of him has been so hard. We talk about it, and I tell him that we all have our struggles and this happens to be mine. I tell him to watch me. This is how you thrive even when things are hard, watch me child. When he hits the inevitable turbulence that life brings I want him to have the coping skills he needs to always find the bright spot. But I too am terrified that I won’t get to see him grow up.
    My first birthday since I almost died is the day after tomorrow, and it feels so surreal. There was a time that turning 39 would have sent me into a sadness spiral, thinking of getting older and time running out and all of that. I do still have some of those feelings, but they’ve been overwhelmingly replaced by the deepest gratitude that I have actually made it to see another birthday. I search for positive stories from people who have or who are overcoming adversity with joy in their hearts, they get me through and remind me of who I want to be. Your story was that for me today, so thank you so much. You touched my heart and uplifted my failing spirits this morning. I will be praying for you and your family, and sending good thoughts your way.

    Like

    • Happy belated birthday. You touched my heart as well. Isnt’t a positive outlook the only way to really get by? I too have bad days…it’s like a balancing act. Best wishes!

      Like

  7. Like others I saw your story on Love What Matters. I’m a cancer survivor as well (Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma – 13 years – hooray!) and it’s hard because I’m now facing a lumpectomy because we can’t leave any foreign objects in my breasts due to the radiation I had following my chemo. I always feel like for me it’s not a question of “if” but “when” cancer will return to do what it started on me. Thank you for reminding me to celebrate every day as they are gifts – especially the birthdays. Sending you all the prayers and healing vibes I can my fellow survivor sister.

    Like

Leave a comment